1984 – "Tall ships" and sailboats with thousands of viewers
Huge waves from the El Niño storm in the winter of 1988
During the 1920s – 30s visitors to Manhattan Beach came to experience a day at the beach or a day of fishing. The Manhattan Beach Pier was immediately known for its fine fishing. Many people rode the trolley inland to catch large sea bass, , and halibut. In 1924 a 200 foot-long "Wooden Extension" was added to the end of the pier. It remained in service until it was completely destroyed by the winter storms of 1940 and 1941.
The California Department of Parks and Recreation was involved and acted on the recommendation of the Manhattan Beach Council in 1989. The resultant restoration was begun in February 1991 and completed by July 18, 1992. The deck, roundhouse, and lifeguard station were completely replaced. The original design for the 1920 pier lights were utilized and the tile roof of lifeguard station matched the tile roof on the roundhouse. The new roundhouse houses a state of the art aquarium.